This past Thursday I emailed my notice of resignation to my bosses.  It was the 2nd draft which thanked them for the opportunity, expressing how much I learned and wishing them the best of luck in their future with the company.  The 1st draft was a laundry list of all of the things that I did not like about the company and how I was treated unfairly during the two years with them.

Yeah, it was only two years but a lot happened during this time.  I left a full time employed job to go work the company as a Contractor.  More money gave me the financial freedom to leave my husband, which I did so exactly two months after starting my contract.  My life was going in the direction that I wanted it to go.

During my two years, my bosses praised my work and offered me the opportunity to be staff.  The salary would be about £10k less than what I was earning as a Contractor and so at the time I had to ask if the offer could be postponed for several months.  I was renting in the City, and it was expensive.  They understood and said, yeah sure no problem, we will get the paperwork started and it should be completed by the time your lease is up.  Mutual agreement.  I thought to myself what a nice thing to do for me.

I was so wrong.  They offered staff roles to other less qualified people.  This was upsetting.  I asked, when is my staff paperwork going to be completed?  The response I received from my bosses was, what are you talking about?  I couldn’t believe it.  What a bunch of lying numbskulls.

Then the bullying started.  I soon learned that as a Contractor, HR were not interested my welfare.  Not one person cared.  I was left feeling very low.  My self esteem had plummeted.  I had to seek help.  I did, and after about 6 sessions my confidence was becoming restored.  I put my CV on the job boards and soon was being head hunted for roles.

Persistence paid off and I was offered a role with a higher salary and working less hours.  Boom!

After the email was sent to my bosses, one of them replied by telephone pleading with me not to go.  We had a meeting the next day.  This is when I let my lips loose to sink their ship.

I went through the timeline of my employment with them and gave exact details about all of the times they messed me about.  I made it clear that the way they treated me had negative reprecussions and I had to seek medical help.  My boss sat there with his mouth open.  That’s when I told it like it is.  I made my excuse before I started and forewarned him that where I come from, New York, I can only be honest and straight to the point.  I told him that the people he has hired are incompetent as what I have seen with my own eyes.  That they would rather play on their phones than work.  And here I am, hard working and dedicated and you chose them over me.  Well, it’s their problem now, because there is not anyone of my colleagues who has the experience and dedication that I possess.  Yeah, good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

